Maryland Rock Raiders
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Maryland Rock Raiders Forum

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog in

First Off Road experience with the Jeep

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
JKNurse79

JKNurse79

Female Number of posts : 122
Registration date : 2009-04-01

First Off Road experience with the Jeep Empty
PostSubject: First Off Road experience with the Jeep   First Off Road experience with the Jeep EmptyThu Jul 02, 2009 8:34 pm

The Jeep went wheeling for the first time today and for real this time not just into a mailbox. We are down Ocean City for the 4th and decided to bring the Jeep. We decided to take it to Assateague Island for an off road trip. We stop to get our permit and were handed a map that had needs to know when going off road. I started to read the instructions, which included reducing tire pressure to 15 PSI and so on and so forth. Of course we did not have a tire gauge since I am a novice at wheeling. We pull up to where every one is letting out the air in their tires and there was an orange TJ from New Jersey. I start asking my husband what are we going to do and was I was just going to plan to go get a tire gauge and come back. My husband went up talked to the guy in the Jeep and he come over and helped measure all our tires while his family was sitting in his Jeep waiting for him. I have to say Jeep owner are so nice and helpful. He gave us some tip for driving on the sand and off we went. We started in 4 wheel high but then realized it would be a lot easier in low. We tried and tried and could not figure out how to get my Jeep into low. It is a little different when you are used to a vehicle where all you have to do is turn a button. We then pulled the manual out and were able to finally get it into low and have some fun. We first stuck to where people had made tracks before us and then went across the sand to get closer to the water a little bumpy but fun. I drove ba