Maryland Rock Raiders
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Maryland Rock Raiders Forum

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog in

career choices???

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
jdjeeper

jdjeeper

Male Number of posts : 36
Registration date : 2009-02-03

career choices??? Empty
PostSubject: career choices???   career choices??? EmptyMon Mar 02, 2009 10:29 pm

hey guys as some of you may or may not know i am in school in pittsburgh for collision and refinishing but im not to sure i want to do it for a living anymore because the industry looks rather gloomy and as far as benefits there is none unless you work for a dealership. my question is what is a good career to get into that i can get into an apprenticeship without spending money for going to school like i am now? thanks
Back to top Go down
ffhill61

ffhill61

Male Number of posts : 103
Registration date : 2009-02-04

career choices??? Empty
PostSubject: Re: career choices???   career choices??? EmptyMon Mar 02, 2009 10:51 pm

Ever think about becoming a firefighter? You get excellent benefits (20 or 25 year retirement, medical, dental,paid vacation). You also have a crap pot load of time off. I work 4 days in a row (2-10 hour days followed by 2-14 hour night shifts) then I have 4 days off. So with you 4 days off you can work any number of part time jobs or just work on the jeep and wheel. I know this is a long way off but if you ever get married and have kids you get to spend a TON of time with you kids...which is priceless. All in all it is a great job and I would not think of doing anything else. If you have any other questions PM me.

Matt
Back to top Go down
jdjeeper

jdjeeper

career choices??? Empty
PostSubject: Re: career choices???   career choices??? EmptyMon Mar 02, 2009 10:53 pm

how well is the pay?
Back to top Go down
ffhill61

ffhill61

career choices??? Empty